Skip to content

God Save the Queen

21 May 2012

Today is a holiday in my home and native land, one commonly referred to by most Canadians as the May Two-Four (referring to the fact that the holiday is celebrated on or directly before May 24th, and also that it is normally observed by the consumption of a ‘two-four’ – a box of 24 bottles of beer). However, in my family, we prefer to call the holiday by its proper name, the Victoria Day long weekend, in honour of Queen Victoria’s birthday.

Living in England, you would expect that the Brits would be right in on this holiday, waving the Union Jack and belting out God Save the Queen at every opportunity. But (can you believe it?) the birth of the longest reigning monarch in English history goes completely unobserved on this side of the pond.

I’ll admit the May 2-4 is certainly not the most widely celebrated holiday in Canada. The Canada Day weekend – the first long weekend of the summer – puts up strong competition.

Captain Canada

Captain Canada’s sidekick is so not impressed

But, largely due to the enthusiasm of my dear uncle, Victoria Day has always been a big celebration in my family. The portrait of Queen Victoria gets dusted off and placed centre stage, the cottage is covered in Union Jacks, and the family gathers for a rousing chorus of Rule Britannia.

Victoria Day

Let’s play a game called find all of the flags – Exhibit A

Victoria Day

Exhibit B

Victoria Day

Exhibit C

So with my family an ocean away this Victoria Day weekend, I was determined to find my own little ways to observe this unique aspect of Canadian (?) culture. Here’s what I came up with:

High Tea

Delightful high tea at the Ashmolean Museum dining room – something I’m sure Queen Vicky herself would have enjoyed.

Queen Elizabeth Necklace

I know this is the wrong monarch but I thought wearing a necklace with Lizzie’s mug would get me in the royal spirit.

And finally…

Fancy Hat

Hat shopping for my tea at Buckingham Palace one week from tomorrow. Check out that bow!

Happy Victoria Day everyone – God save the Queen!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Cindy two permalink
    22 May 2012 3:19 am

    flags found:) happy victoria day to all celebrants near and far!

  2. Caitlin permalink
    22 May 2012 2:40 pm

    My family sent me a picture of a union jack flying on our cottage flagpole yesterday, and I also felt the irony that no one in London (the city who always finds an excuse to celebrate) even knew it was Victoria Day!

    • everydaythesunrises permalink*
      23 May 2012 8:24 am

      I love that your family flies the Union Jack too Caitlin! Next time I see you we’ll have a toast to Queen Vicky.

  3. 28 May 2012 4:37 pm

    Ha! When we were on the Camino in Spain we met a British couple who thought it was insane that we celebrated Victoria Day! However, the Australians we met didn’t think it was so weird… it must be a colonial thing…. Love reading what you are up to!

Leave a comment